Mostly Cloudy 19° C Mostly Cloudy

Corporate Structure


































Corporate Structure


The Strathcona Regional District was established on February 15, 2008 as one of two new regional districts, created by the Provincial government’s  restructure of the Comox-Strathcona Regional District.  Regional districts are a unique feature of the British Columbia local government system and the Strathcona Regional District, as with all regional districts, is a federation of municipalities and unincorporated areas. Regional districts provide a government for unincorporated (rural) areas, a forum for inter-municipal cooperation and service delivery, and an organization upon which Provincial mandates can be imposed, such as regional waste management planning.

Four electoral areas and five member municipalities together form the Strathcona Regional District, which covers approximately 22,000 square kilometers (8,517 square miles) and serves a population of 44,671 residents (2016 census). The region’s borders extend from the Oyster River in the south to Gold River, Sayward, Tahsis, Zeballos and Kyuquot in the north and west, and then east to take in Cortes, Quadra and the Discovery Islands, and a portion of the mainland north of Powell River.


The Strathcona Regional District has a Board of 13 directors comprising electoral area directors who are elected directly by rural area voters and serve three-year terms, and municipal directors who are first elected to a municipal council by municipal voters and are then appointed by council to the Regional District board for a maximum term of three years. Annually, the Board elects its Chair who establishes committees to deal with issues such as land use planning.

Most matters, when dealt with at the Board table, are decided on a one director-one vote basis but there are certain issues that are voted on using a “weighted vote”. The weighted vote is determined by population.  Each municipality and electoral area is entitled to one vote for every 1,500 in population. No municipal director is permitted more than five votes, therefore the City of Campbell River, with 22 votes, has five directors on the Board.

The Regional District provides services such as assistance with Official Community Plans; approval/inspection services to encourage and ensure compliance; awareness and education; water and air enhancement; liquid waste management; impact assessment; protective services such as 911, fire prevention/suppression, disaster response, and animal control; parks and recreation, such as development and management of parks, greenways, recreation facilities; public utilities and services such as water supply, public transit, street lighting; regional planning and encouragement of sustainable development.


301-990 Cedar Street, Campbell River, BC  V9W 7Z8  phone: 250-830-6700 or 1-877-830-2990  fax: 250-830-6710

Powered by CivicWeb CMS - © Copyright 2013 iCompass Technologies Inc.